top of page
Opel Kadett Holzvergaser wood gasifier

The Opel Kadett City with wood gas generator

 

I restored the first wood gas generator at the beginning of the eighties. Since then, I have heard all kinds of stories about this technology. During the 1973 gasoline crisis, a Cadillac with a wood carburetor was on the road. There was nothing more to learn about it. But the dream of one day driving a car with a wood carburetor never left me.

Shortly before the petrol price explosion in 2005, I said to my employees that I would drive to work with wood instead of petrol if the price of unleaded fuel was more than CHF 1.60 per liter. When the prices actually exploded a few months later, I was somewhat forced into action. 

In spring 2006, I bought a nearly new 1200 Opel Kadett City automatic with 75,000 kilometers on the clock. I fitted a Wisco gas generator to this vehicle, which I had already had in my collection for a few years.

Walter Isendahl & Co. gasifier

Walter Isendahl & Co. gasifier

 

The 1947 WISCO gas generator for lignite and wood has a total weight of 80 kg, making it ideal for mounting on the 850 kg lightweight Opel. 

 

Originally, this gas generator was intended to be mounted at the front of the vehicle. However, for optimum weight distribution and road safety, I wanted to mount it at the rear.

Wood gasifier Holzvergaser Schema WISCO

The state of the art

As with the combustion engine, there is a point at which gas generators can no longer be developed further. This was the case with the gasoline engine at the end of the 1930s. With the exception of direct injection, everything was already in place, and no further fundamental improvements have been made to date - the optimizations have been achieved through modern materials and engine management. The development of the gas generator was completed around 1947. Thanks to its highly integrated and minimalist design, the WISCO is considered one of the most compact, efficient and lightweight gas generators.

Modernization of the system

The gas generator from Walter Isendahl & Co. is a welded construction practically in one piece. It is designed for the gasification of lignite and wood.

It is an absolutely minimalist design and is still state of the art today. However, I separated the construction into several parts and fitted the gas cooler with flanges. This made it possible to galvanize the gas generator.

The asbestos was removed. Various modifications were made to improve the ease of maintenance.

Opel Kadett Holzvergaser wood gasifier
Opel Kadett Holzvergaser wood gasifier

Support structure

The entire construction rests on a chassis which is connected to the Opel. The gas pipe is routed under the car into the engine compartment.

Fan

 

The fan is located on the right in the direction of travel. The gas outlet of the fan is at the front through the radiator grille.

 

The Opel has hardly been modified, with the exception of the hole in the radiator grille. But I only made this hole after I had obtained a replacement grille. This means that the Kadett can be restored to its original condition at any time.

Opel Kadett Holzvergaser wood gasifier
Opel Kadett Holzvergaser wood gasifier

Gas mixer and hybrid installation

The carburetor has been moved to the left. The Solex wood gas mixer can be seen on the right in the direction of travel. The gas is sucked in from the rear, mixed with fresh air and fed to the engine.

The ignition distributor can be adjusted by 15° from the cockpit to take account of the slow combustion of wood gas.

Instrumentation

Instead of the radio, this car has two vacuum pressure gauges on the dashboard, from which the status of the generator can be read.

 

If required, the generator's grate shaker can be operated electrically via a toggle switch. Two additional Bowden cables for the fan and for adjusting the gas mixture during gas mode have also been installed.

Left: Underpressure after generator (is improved by grate shaking)
Right: Underpressure after fine filter (replace filter material if necessary)

Opel Kadett Holzvergaser wood gasifier
Opel Kadett Holzvergaser wood gasifier

Bet redeemed with a slight delay

The crazy idea became reality: the promise to drive to work on wood gas at a petrol price of over CHF 1.60 per liter was kept.

The car struck a chord with the times: due to the now astronomical rise in petrol prices, the car attracted a lot of attention from the public and the media. Even if this drive system is neither contemporary nor suitable for everyday use - it works.

Opel Kadett Holzvergaser wood gasifier
bottom of page

top of page

Der Opel Kadett City mit Holzvergaser

Ich restaurierte den ersten Holzgasgenerator Anfang der achtziger Jahre. Seit damals erfuhr ich verschiedenste Geschichten im Zusammenhang mit dieser Technik. Während der Benzinkrise 1973 war ein Cadillac mit Holzvergaser unterwegs. Mehr war darüber nicht zu erfahren. Aber der Traum liess mich nicht mehr los, eines Tages ein Auto mit Holzvergaser zu fahren.

Kurz vor der Benzinpreisexplosion 2005 sagte ich zu meinen MitarbeiterInnen, bei mehr als CHF 1.60 / Liter Bleifrei werde ich mit Holz statt Benzin zur Arbeit fahren. Als die Preise wenige Monate später tatsächlich explodierten, geriet ich etwas in Zugzwang. 

Im Frühjahr 2006 erwarb ich einen fast neuwertigen 1200er Opel Kadett City Automatik mit 75'000 Kilometern auf dem Tacho. An dieses Fahrzeug montierte ich einen Wisco- Gaserzeuger, den ich schon seit ein paar Jahren in meiner Sammlung hatte.

Walter Isendahl & Co. Gaserzeuger

 

Der WISCO Gasgenerator für Braunkohle und Holz von 1947 hat ein Gesamtgewicht von 80 kg, also ideal für die Montage am 850 kg leichten Opel. 

Ursprünglich war dieser Gaserzeuger für die Montage vorne am Fahrzeug vorgesehen. Für eine optimale Gewichtsverteilung und wegen der Verkehrssicherheit wollte ich ihn hinten am Opel Kadett montieren.

Auf dem letzten Stand der Technik

 

Wie beim Verbrennungsmotor gibt es auch bei Gasgeneratoren einen Punkt, an dem sie prinzipiell nicht mehr weiterentwickelt werden können. Beim Benzinmotor war das Ende der 30er Jahre soweit. Mit Ausnahme der Direkteinspritzung gab es alles schon, weitere fundamentalen Verbesserungen sind bis heute nicht mehr erkennbar- die Optimierungen gelingen durch moderne Materialien und Motorenmanagement. Beim Gasgenerator war die Entwicklung um 1947 abgeschlossen. Der WISCO gilt wegen seinem hoch integrierten und minimalistischen Design als einer der kompaktesten, effizientesten und leichtesten Gasgeneratoren.

Modernisierung der Anlage

 

Der Gaserzeuger der Firma Walter Isendahl & Co. ist eine Schweisskonstruktion praktisch aus einem Stück. Er ist für die Vergasung von Braunkohle und Holz ausgelegt.
 

Es ist ein absolut minimalistisches Design und auch heute noch auf den letzten Stand der Technik. Ich trennte die Konstruktion in mehrere Teile und versah den Gaskühler mit Flanschen. Dadurch war es möglich, den Gaserzeuger zu verzinken.

Das Asbest wurde entfernt. Verschiedene Modifikationen wurden durchgeführt, um die Wartungsfreundlichkeit zu verbessern.

Trägerkonstruktion

 

Die ganze Konstruktion ruht auf einem  Chassis, welches mit dem Opel verbunden ist. Das Gasrohr wird unter dem Wagen hindurch in den Motorraum geführt.

Ventilator

 

In Fahrtrichtung rechts befindet sich der Ventilator. Der Gasaustritt des Ventilators erfolgt vorne durch den Kühlergrill.

 

Der Opel wurde kaum modifiziert, mit Ausnahme vom Loch im Kühlergrill. Aber auch das Loch habe ich erst angebracht, nachdem ich einen Ersatzgrill besorgt hatte. D.h. der Kadett kann jederzeit in den Originalzustand zurück versetzt werden.

Gasmischer und Hybridinstallation

 

Der Vergaser wurde nach links verschoben. Rechts in Fahrtrichtung sieht man den Solex- Holzgasmischer. Das Gas wird von hinten angesaugt, mit Frischluft vermischt, und dem Motor zugeführt.

Der Zündverteiler kann vom Cockpit aus um 15° verstellt werden, um der langsamen Verbrennung von Holzgas Rechnung zu tragen.​

Armaturen

 

Anstelle des Radios hat dieser Wagen in der Mitte zwei Unterdruck-Manometer, an denen der Zustand des Generators abgelesen werden kann.

 

Bei Bedarf kann über einen Kippschalter der Rüttler des Generators elektrisch betätigt werden. Zwei zusätzliche Bowdenzüge für die Ventilierung und Gemischeinstellung bei Gasbetrieb wurden ebenfalls installiert.

Links: Unterdruck nach Generator​ (wird durch Rütteln abgesenkt)
Rechts: Unterdruck nach Feinfilter (bei Bedarf Filtermaterial austauschen)​

Opel Kadett Holzvergaser
Opel Kadett Holzvergaser

Wette mit etwas Verspätung eingelöst

Aus der Schnapsidee wurde Realität: Das Versprechen wurde eingelöst, bei einem Benzinpreis von über CHF 1.60 pro Liter mit Holzgas zur Arbeit zu fahren.

Der Wagen traf den Nerv der Zeit: Wegen den mittlerweile astronomisch gestiegenen Benzinpreisen erhielt das Auto viel Aufmerksamkeit des Publikums und der Medien. Auch wenn dieses Antriebssystem weder zeitgemäss noch alltagstauglich ist- es funktioniert.

Opel Kadett Holzvergaser
bottom of page