top of page
Holzvergaser gasgenerator wood gas generator gazogene Imbert
Georges Imbert Holzvergaser wood gas gazogene

Georges Imbert, father of mobile gas generators

 

Georges Imbert was born on March 25, 1884 in Niederstinzel (Lorraine). Thanks to his good school grades, he was able to attend the chemistry school in Mulhouse, one of the best in Europe at the time. Three years later, he graduated as an engineer. At the age of twenty, he filed his first patent; a further 15 patents followed over the next ten years. These included in the field of tri-based cleaning agents and the synthesis of indigo from acetylene.

After working in a soap factory and spending time in Manchester, he was drafted into the German army during the First World War. He worked as a chemist in Linden and Berlin. After the end of the war, he returned to Diemeringen, to his uncle's soap factory. Among other things, he worked on the production of synthetic fuels from coal. However, this process was uneconomical, so he came up with gasification technology: when a solid fuel is “burned” in the absence of oxygen, combustible gases are produced. These gases are then purified, cooled and fed into the engine. The early gas works all worked according to this principle, and the first gas lanterns and gas stoves were fired in this way (lignite was usually used as fuel).

Imbert built his first charcoal gas generator in 1921. A year later, the first motor vehicle ran on this principle. In 1922, the French government announced a competition for gas generators, which was won by the United Kingdom.


In order to become independent of foreign fuels, Imbert was commissioned by the French government in 1923 to develop a wood gas generator. He patented various processes for wood gasification in collaboration with the industrialist De Dietrich. They parted company because De Dietrich filed his own patents (Image: In 1937, the French state railroads placed an order with De Dietrich for three charcoal-powered railcars, which were delivered to the newly founded SNCF from 1938).

Holzgas Schienenfahrzeug wood gas train gazogene chemin de fer
Ford V8 Holzvergaser wood gasifier gazogene

In 1930, Imbert founded the “Society of Imbert Gas Generators” in Saarland (Germany) - his new home. The French war minister Maginot was very angry about this. To avoid being expropriated, Imbert was forced to sell licenses to other companies.

 

The entrepreneur Johannes Linneborn bought the German license for the Imbert generator. Despite constant further development of the gas generator, there were only 88 licensed gas generator tractors in the entire German Reich in 1938.

"Imbert Generatoren GmbH” was founded in Cologne, in the immediate vicinity of the Ford plants. The large-volume V8 engines from Ford were very well suited for operation with Imbert generators. Countless other trucks were equipped with the Imbert wood gas system. Many conversions by truck dealers and workshops are known.

The success in Germany enabled Imbert to continue its research. However, when the Saarland was evacuated from the approaching Wehrmacht in May 1940, Imbert fled to Epinal in the Vosges. He returned in September of the same year. However, the company now belonged to Imbert Cologne and Georges had to work as an employee in his own business.

Schema Holzvergaser wood gas gazogene
Holzvergaser traktor tractor wood gas gazogene

An “Ordinance on the Use of Tractors in Agriculture” dated November 11, 1939 prohibited the use of tractors outside of necessary field work and for operating stationary threshing machines under threat of fines of up to 10,000 Reichsmark. However, this measure was not enough to save enough fuel. In the meantime, the Second World War had broken out and the Wehrmacht had a correspondingly high fuel requirement.

 

The research center developed a “standard generator”, and wood gas-powered tractors were mass-produced in Germany from the beginning of 1942. Throughout the country, 2,000 wood gas filling stations were set up. Other tractors could be converted, but this was quite expensive (1,200 to 2,500 Reichsmarks). As a result, many tractors were taken out of service.

From Sweden to Australia, over 1 million vehicles were powered by gas generators during WW2. Truck mileages of over 300,000 km were achieved. The majority of civilian vehicles in Switzerland, Italy, France and Russia were also converted to gas generators. Initially, the Imbert generators were mounted on the vehicle in an unattractive way. Later designs were already harmoniously integrated into the bodywork. By 1945, Imbert had produced 500,000 gas generators in Cologne. The Ford plants in Denmark and Finland also supplied wood gas generators. Countless other companies produced Imbert-based gas generators for wood, peat, lignite, anthracite and smouldering coke.

 

Georges Imbert even received a Cross of Merit in 1944. During the occupation of Saarland by the Americans in December 1944, Imbert escaped arrest. However, his company was sold. Imbert lost interest and died on February 6, 1950 at the age of 66 in Sarre-Union in Alsace. 

 

After the Second World War and the end of petrol rationing, the production of gas generator vehicles was completely discontinued due to their limited power and their complicated and dangerous operation. Only a few wood gas generators survived the year 1952. The former buildings of the Imbert works are now part of the Ford factory site.

Tu marches donc au gazogene
bottom of page

top of page
Holzvergaser gasgenerator wood gas generator gazogene Imbert
Georges Imbert Holzvergaser wood gas gazogene

Georges Imbert, Vater der mobilen Gaserzeuger
 

Georges Imbert wurde am 25. März im Jahre 1884 in Niederstinzel (Lothringen) geboren. Dank guten Schulnoten durfte er die Chemieschule in Mülhausen besuchen, damals eine der besten Europas. Drei Jahre später war er Diplom-Ingenieur. Bereits im Alter von zwanzig Jahren reichte er sein erstes Patent ein; in den nächsten zehn Jahren folgten weitere 15 Patente. So u.a. auf dem Gebiet von Reinigungsmitteln auf Tri-Basis und der Synthese von Indigo aus Acetylen.
 

Nach einer Anstellung in einer Seifenfabrik und einem Aufenthalt in Manchester wurde er im ersten Weltkrieg von der deutschen Armee eingezogen. Er arbeitete als Chemiker in Linden und Berlin. Nach Kriegsende kehrte er nach Diemeringen zurück, in die Seifenfabrik seines Onkels. Er befasste sich u.a. mit der Gewinnung synthetischer Kraftstoffe aus Kohle. Dieses Verfahren ist jedoch unwirtschaftlich, deshalb kommt er auf die Vergasungstechnik: Wird ein fester Brennstoff unter Sauerstoffmangel "verbrannt", dann entstehen brennbare Gase. Diese Gase werden anschliessend gereinigt, gekühlt und dem Motor zugeführt. Die frühen Gaswerke arbeiteten alle nach diesem Prinzip, auf diese Weise wurden die ersten Gaslaternen und Gasherde befeuert (Braunkohle diente meist als Treibstoff).

1921 baute Imbert seinen ersten Holzkohle-Gasgenerator. Ein Jahr später lief das erste Kraftfahrzeug mit diesem Prinzip. 1922 schrieb die französische Regierung einen Wettbewerb für Gasgeneratoren aus, er wurde von England gewonnen.
 

Um von ausländischen Kraftstoffen unabhängig zu werden, wurde Imbert 1923 von der französischen Regierung beauftragt, einen Holzgasgenerator zu entwickeln. Er patentierte verschiedene Verfahren zur Holzvergasung, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Industriellen De Dietrich. Sie trennten sich, weil De Dietrich eigene Patente einreichte (Bild: Die französischen Staatsbahnen erteilten 1937 der Firma De Dietrich den Auftrag für drei holzkohle-betriebene Triebwagen, die ab 1938 an die neu gegründete SNCF ausgeliefert wurden).

Holzgas Schienenfahrzeug wood gas train gazogene chemin de fer
Ford V8 Holzvergaser wood gasifier gazogene

1930 gründete Imbert die "Gesellschaft der Imbert-Gasgeneratoren" im Saarland (Deutschland) - seinem neuen Wohnsitz. Der französische Kriegminister Maginot war darüber sehr erbost. Um nicht enteignet zu werden war Imbert gezwungen, Lizenzen an andere Firmen zu verkaufen.

Der Unternehmer Johannes Linneborn kaufte die deutsche Lizenz für den Imbert-Generator. Trotz stetiger Weiterentwicklung des Gasgenerators gab es im Jahre 1938 nur 88 zugelassene Gasgeneratorschlepper im gesamten Deutschen Reich.

In Köln, in direkter Nachbarschaft zu den Ford Werken, wurde "Imbert Generatoren GmbH" gegründet. Die grossvolumigen V8 Motoren von Ford waren besonders gut für den Betrieb mit Imbert-Generatoren geeignet. Mit der Imbert Holzgasanlage wurden unzählige andere LKW ausgestattet. Viele Umbauten durch LKW-Händler und Werkstätten sind bekannt.

Der Erfolg in Deutschland ermöglichte es Imbert, weiter zu forschen. Als jedoch im Mai 1940 das Saarland vor der herannahenden Wehrmacht evakuiert wurde, floh Imbert nach Epinal in den Vogesen. Im September des gleichen Jahres kehrte er zurück. Die Firma gehörte jedoch mittlerweile zu Imbert Köln und Georges musste als Angestellter im eigenen Betrieb arbeiten.

Schema Holzvergaser wood gas gazogene
Holzvergaser traktor tractor wood gas gazogene

Eine "Verordnung über den Einsatz von Schleppern in der Landwirtschaft" vom 11. November 1939 verbot unter Androhung von Strafen bis zu 10.000 Reichsmark, Traktoren ausserhalb der notwendigen Feldarbeit und zum Betreiben von stationären Dreschmaschinen zu verwenden. Doch diese Massnahme reichte nicht, um genügend Treibstoff einzusparen. Denn mittlerweile war der Zweite Weltkrieg ausgebrochen und die Wehrmacht hatte einen entsprechend hohen Kraftstoffbedarf.

Die Forschungsstelle entwickelte einen "Einheitsgenerator", und seit Anfang 1942 wurden holzgasbetriebene Traktoren in Deutschland in Serie gefertigt. Im ganzen Land wurden 2.000 Holztankstellen eingerichtet. Andere Traktoren konnten umgerüstet werden, was allerdings ziemlich kostspielig war (1.200 bis 2.500 Reichsmark). Daher wurden viele Traktoren stillgelegt.

Von Schweden bis Australien wurden während dem Zweiten Weltkrieg über 1 Mio Fahrzeuge mit Generatorgas betrieben. LKW-Laufleistungen über 300.000 km wurden realisiert. Auch in der Schweiz, in Italien, Frankreich und Russland wurde ein Grossteil der zivilen Fahrzeuge auf Holzgas umgerüstet. Zunächst wurden die Imbert-Generatoren noch unschön am Fahrzeug angebaut. Spätere Konstruktionen wiesen bereits eine harmonische Integration in die Karosserie auf. Bis 1945 produzierte Imbert in Köln 500.000 Gasgeneratoren. Zusätzlich lieferten auch die Ford Werke in Kopenhagen und Finnland Holzgasgeneratoren. Unzählige weitere Firmen produzierten Imbert-basierende Gasgeneratoren für Holz, Torf, Braunkohle, Anthrazit und Schwelkoks.

1944 erhielt Georges Imbert sogar ein Verdienstkreuz. Während der Saarland-Okkupation durch die Amerikaner im Dezember 1944 entkam Imbert einer Verhaftung. Seine Firma wurde jedoch verkauft. Imbert verlor das Interesse, er starb am 6. Februar 1950 im Alter von 66 Jahren in Sarre-Union im Elsass. 

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg und dem Ende der Benzinrationierung, wurde die Produktion der Holzgasfahrzeuge aufgrund ihrer begrenzten Leistung und ihrer komplizierten wie gefährlichen Bedienung vollständig eingestellt. Nur wenige Holzgasgeneratoren haben das Jahr 1952 überlebt. Die ehemaligen Gebäude der Imbert Werke gehören heute zum Werksgelände von Ford.

Tu marches donc au gazogene
bottom of page